Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

2023 Estevan Bruins Awards Night

The Estevan Bruins held their annual awards night to celebrate the 2022/23 regular season.

The team, billets, family, and fans filled the Beefeater Plaza to recap the year so far on the eve of the first round of playoffs. The coaching staff presented each player with their award, then gave a short speech as to why that player was selected.

* All Photos 📸 –  Lemon Wedge Marketing Group

Tower Café ‘Most Valuable Player’
“The name of the award says it all.”
WINNER: Cam Hrdlicka

‘Defenceman of the Year’
“Presented to the defenseman who demonstrates leadership at his position and plays a key role in all scenarios for the Bruins.”
WINNER: Aleksa Babic

‘Iron Man’ Award

“Presented to the player or players who play every game in the regular season for the club.”
WINNERS: Aleksa Babic, Evan Forrest, and Owen Barrow

Estevan Bruins ‘Top Scorer’
“Awarded to the player or players who lead the club in points scored during the regular season.”
WINNER: Kade Runke – 54 PTS (26G, 28A)

‘Community Involvement’ Award
“Presented to the player or players who are determined to have the most desire to represent the club at community events. The winner also displays a positive and outgoing attitude at the events, volunteers without any or minimal hesitation, and encourages his teammates to volunteer as well.”

WINNER: Aleksa Babic

Abe Berday Memorial ‘Scholastic’ Award
“Presented to player or players who excels academically during the hockey season, and maintains a high grade while also playing effective
minutes for the team.”
WINNER: Dan O’Neill

Most Popular Player Award
“Awarded to the player or players that hold the greatest amount of perceived popularity in the community.”
WINNERS: Keagon Little and Jag Phangura

‘Most Sportsmanlike Player’
“Awarded to the player or players that compete at a high level and is a difficult opponent to play against, all while playing within the rulebook.”
WINNER: Gabriel Filion

‘Most Improved Player’
“Awarded to the player or players that show the most significant increase of ability in all areas of their game. This award can be given over a one-season span, or multiple seasons as determined by the coaching staff.”
WINNER: Jackson Miller

‘Most Underrated Player’
“Awarded to the player or players that make the most significant contribution in their role on the team, while possibly being overshadowed by their teammates or ignored by their opponents.”
WINNER: Robbie Stewart

Mark Cross ‘Ethics’ Award
“Mark Cross was a former Estevan Bruins forward for 3 seasons. Mark is the only Bruins’ player-to-date that has won the Ethics award multiple times, winning it in 2010 and 2011. Mark Cross was among the 16 people that died in the Humboldt Broncos bus crash in 2018, and the Estevan Bruins renamed it the ‘Mark Cross Ethics Award’ since 2019. The award recognizes a Bruins’ player that embodies a high moral character, integrity, hard work, and respect both on and off the ice.”
WINNER: Sam McPeak

Estevan Bruins ‘Heart’ Award
“Presented by the club’s training staff, the winner of the award shows the greatest level of work ethic, team spirit, determination, dedication, and drive on the team.”
WINNER: Mitch Kohner

‘Mr. Hustle’ Award
“As described within the title, this award is presented to the player or players who displays a high level of hustle and effort on the ice every shift throughout the regular season.”
WINNER: Cody Davis

‘Rocky’ Award
“Presented to the player or players who display the greatest combination of skill, grit, toughness, drive and willingness to win throughout the regular season.”
WINNER: Owen Barrow

‘Rookie of the Year’
“Awarded to the player or players that show the highest level of ability and consistently contribute to the team’s success during their first full season of Junior ‘A’ hockey.”
WINNER: Tyler Guy

‘Volunteer of the Year’ Award
“Awarded to an individual who donates significant hours of their own time assisting the club with gameday activities, promotions, or day-to-day operations.”
WINNER: Sheldon Beatty

Playoff MVP – N/A at this time


The night was also an opportunity to recognize and honour the 7 players who will “graduate” from junior hockey following the season. Each player will receive a commemorative ring to keep and after the season, will all be member of the Estevan Bruin Alumni.