Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Estevan Bruins 2021 AGM Recap

The Estevan Bruins held their Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday night inside Affinity Place.

During the meeting, the audited financial reports from the 2020-21 season for the club were discussed by Angela Stepp with MNP in Estevan. It was mentioned that despite the many challenges and struggles that the COVID-shortened season had on the club, the Bruins’ are still in a solid position financially as the 2021/22 season begins. That is mainly due to the support from the corporate sponsors who for the most part left their sponsorship contribution from last season with the club and have once again stepped up to sponsor the team this year. The club was also successful in fundraising even though there was no hockey being played, which helped boost the bottom line.

There were also changes to the Executive for the Estevan Bruins for the upcoming season, with previous board member Michael Hengen and previous President/Governor George Sereggela coming off the board. Josh Biggs has taken over as the President and Team Governor for the club and two new board members were nominated and voted in by acclimation: Riley Tetreault and Aaron Ludwig.

Board of Directors for 2021/22

President/Governor: Josh Biggs

Vice-President: Andrew Tait

Treasurer: Cody Schrader

Executive Members: Greg Hoffort, Cory Prokop, Amanda Minchin, Riley Tetreault (new), Aaron Ludwig (new).

City of Estevan Liason: Rebecca Foord

Lastly, the upcoming Centennial Cup being hosted in Estevan from May 20th – 29th was discussed. Full tournament packages are still available to the public and are available through the Estevan Bruins’ office or by contacting a member of the Centennial Cup host committee, including Co-Chairs Greg Hoffort and Cory Prokop.